• Metcalfe County Schools is once again proud to offer FREE breakfast and lunch for all students 5 days a week starting on the first day of school, Monday, Aug. 29, 2022.

Close alert
Open vision bar

School Board Recognizes Students/Staff and Approves Several Items at May Meeting

Board Meeting


EDMONTON, Ky. (May 11, 2022) – The Metcalfe County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, May 10, 2022.


On the agenda, the board approved a resolution to operate under HB 678, which was recently signed into law by Governor Beshear. The resolution allows the district to immediately proceed with projects included in the current District Facility Plan without KDE prior approval. Exceptions include the use of federal funds, including ESSER funds, which will need pre-approval by KDE.


The board approved moving forward with several planned construction projects, including a new bus garage, a new roof at Metcalfe County High School, and phase two of the MCHS bleachers replacement. The board also approved hiring a consultant to oversee construction projects.


Also on the agenda, board members approved a tentative budget for the fiscal year 2023 and the continuation of the district’s Non-Traditional Instruction plan for the 2022-2023 school year.


Superintendent Josh Hurt congratulated Nazayla Crenshaw. Nazayla won the Metcalfe County AARP/KRTA Grandparent of the Year essay contest. Nazayla is a 5th-grade student at Metcalfe County Elementary School. Her grandmother, Bea Jessie, is a member of the MCES cafeteria staff.


Mr. Hurt also acknowledged School Resource Officer Michael Taylor, who was recently named a finalist for the Kentucky Association of School Administrators Fred Award.


The board recognized Laynee Coleman as the May “Student of the Month.” Laynee is a 5th-grade student at Metcalfe County Elementary School. Sherry Phelps, the mental health counselor at MCES, was recognized as the “Classified Employee of the Month.” Angela Shirley, music teacher at MCES, was recognized as the “Certified Employee of the Month.”


Board recognitions are sponsored by RBS Design Group, Glass & Thompson Insurance, and American Fidelity.


The next board meeting is Tuesday, June 14, 2022, at 6:00 pm.


Pictured (L-R): Bea Jessie, Superintendent Josh Hurt, Nazayla Crenshaw


Ofc. Taylor

Pictured May 5 (L-R): Superintendent Josh Hurt, Ofc. Michael Taylor 


Laynee Coleman

Pictured (L-R): Laynee Coleman, Board Chairman Joey Shive


Sherry Phelps

Pictured (L-R): Sherry Phelps, Board Chairman Joey Shive

Angela Shirley

Pictured (L-R): Angela Shirley, Board Chairman Joey Shive


Back to School News       Print